The Town of Jean Lafitte took home the top honor of the night “Best of Show Award” for its “Phase III of the Fisher Basin Tidal Levee Protection Project” at the 81st Annual Louisiana Municipal Association Convention on August 2 in Lake Charles.
The announcement was made at the LMA’s Community Achievement Awards Thursday night, August 2, at the annual banquet of LMA's 81st annual convention at the Lake Charles Convention Center. The convention drew some 1,500 delegates, spouses, dignitaries—including Governor John Bel Edwards—exhibitors, and guests.
“We are thrilled to have received the coveted ‘Best of Show’ award at the 81st Annual Louisiana Municipal Association (LMA) Convention. The LMA represents over 300 municipalities from every corner of Louisiana,” said Timmy Kerner, Jean Lafitte Mayor. “We would like to acknowledge and thank the Lafitte Area Independent Levee District, levee district staff, town officials, and town staff, as well as state and parish officials who have all worked so hard to make sure funding was received and construction was implemented and completed in this project. We look forward to working on completing all tidal protection levees.”

Jean Lafitte AwardThe award was given to Jean Lafitte for its Phase III of the Fisher Basin Tidal Levee Protection Project. This important project completes the final phase in a ring protection levee that will protect the town’s government and civic buildings, schools, health center, fire department, police station, three churches and over 300 residential homes from tidal flooding.
The town also received the 2018 Lt. Governor's Beautification Award. This award is given to municipalities for their efforts supporting a clean and green community.
The LMA's annual awards program recognizes municipalities for outstanding achievement in basic services, LMA is a unified voice for Louisiana’s municipal governments. Their mission is to advocate, educate, and empower local governments to efficiently and effectively serve the citizens of Louisiana. There are 305 LMA members consisting of 127 villages, 111 towns, 65 cities, and 2 parishes.